SUTP-Webinar – Road safety, active mobility and health: how local and global agendas become reality by better design and planning (Tuesday, May 23)

SUTP-Webinar – Road safety, active mobility and health: how local and global agendas become reality by better design and planning (Tuesday, May 23)

We cordially invite you to join the second webinar in 2017 on Tuesday, May 23. Please feel free to share this information with interested contacts.

Road accidents and air pollution have become a serious threat to our health and impact the way we perceive and use public (road) space. At the same time the benefits of active mobility for human health are still only marginally being recognised in policy-making. While we always argue for considering walking and cycling as serious transport modes, which help to improve our environment - those active transport modes are still a practical way to maintain fitness, increase physical activity and reduce health risks such as high blood pressure or even diabetes.

Transport and urban planning as well as safe road design impacts mode choice and thus public health in multiple ways. It is not only the objective and subjective feeling of safety when we walk close to roads or cycle on them. Road design is the key to the attractiveness of non-motorised travel options for daily activities. Conventional transport planning gives relatively little consideration to the long-term health impacts of active transport. However, one of the most cost-effective ways to improve public health is the due consideration of health objectives into transport planning and policy making.

In this webinar Jonathon Passmore (WHO) will elaborate the various objectives and provide insight to some of the national government strategies to improve road safety. Gregor Mews (Urban Synergies Group) will link public health to active mobility and outline the implication for planning and "healthy" road and urban design. This will be supported by case studies on local level and exemplary interventions in built environment.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

08:00 – 09:00 Windhoek (UTC+1)

09:00 – 10:00 Berlin (UTC +2)

10:00 – 11:00 Kyiv, Istanbul, Addis Ababa (UTC+3)

14:00 – 15:00 Bangkok (UTC+7)

15:00 – 16:00 Beijing, Shanghai, Manila (UTC+8)

17:00 – 18:00 Canberra (UTC+10)

If you wish to participate, please register HERE. You’ll find all information and further course offers on the new Capacity-Building platform CAPSUT.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

 

Go back